NorCal AIDS Cycle is on the road!

It’s finally here. By the time most of you read this, Gayle Monroe and I, plus 130 riders and support crew will be well into the four day journey from Beals Point at Folsom Lake. We’ll make a big loop through Northern California, passing through Newcastle, Marysville, Gridley, Oroville, Durham, Colusa, Williams, Capay Valley, Woodland, Winters, Davis, and finish up on Sunday at the west steps of the State Capitol.

Gayle and I wish to thank all of you for joining our team with your financial support. It’s because of you this ride is such a success. I am pleased to say that individually, we raised over $7,500. And as of yesterday our group total passed $260,000 to help fund HIV/AIDS service agencies in Northern California.

I must admit, I’m a little apprehensive. 330 miles is a long way to ride, and even though I did it last year, I’m still a little nervous. But with the support of the other riders, a first-class support crew, and all of you back home, I know I can make it. And we’ve been promised excellent weather this year!

As I did in 2011, I am dedicating this ride to my friend Ken Piercy, who succumbed to AIDS on April 10th of last year. He was loved by many and an inspiration to me.

For those of you who follow me on Facebook and Twitter, look for daily updates!

And I hope some of you can join us on the west steps of the State Capitol on Sunday at noon, for our closing ceremony. I hear a rumor that the UC Davis Marching Bad-Uh! will be providing music, assisted by Sacramento Cheer, plus lots of other things to do.

Again, thank you all for your generous support!

Canon Link (and The Red Baron!)

Leave a Reply

