Lenten Meditation – April 11, 2011

April 11, 2011

Lessons: Psalm 31, 35, Jeremiah 24:1-10, Romans 9:19-33, John 9:1-17

Excerpts from Psalm 31: I will be glad and rejoice in thy mercy: for thou hast considered my trouble; thou hast known my soul in adversities; And has not shut me up into the hand of the enemy: thou hast set my feet in a large room. Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the Lord.

Having been in the Celebration Choir for many years, I can remember times when something deeply spiritual stirred within me as a result of singing a particular song. In that moment, an unspoken, powerful sensation reverberated between the choir and the congregation. Suddenly it was quite apparent that the Lord has indeed considered the “troubles” and “adversities” of His people. To best address our needs, the congregation’s collective “feet” are gently placed “in a large room” within the Cathedral as part of the weekly worship service . . . that “joining together” becomes a way that the Lord might touch each person’s heart . . . perhaps in sermon, scripture, prayers, and, at least in my case, through music.

Thankfully, the Lord speaks to all of us in many different ways. The Lenten season is the perfect opportunity to listen to His voice. When I tried that myself, and ended up joining the choir, something new changed my life. I was brought to His door each week, whereas if I had not taken that step, I might never have experienced the blessing of being part of a musical “family.” It has been a way to both experience and share something deeply spiritual with others, both in and out of the choir. Sometimes I look out at a sea of faces and hope that somehow a certain song will lift someone’s spirits to “feel of good courage” . . . or that a certain lyric will allow someone’s soul to be soothed . . . that somehow the simple act of all of us singing joyously together will strengthen hearts so that we each have renewed “hope in the Lord” to meet any challenges we may face in the upcoming week.

Dear Lord, thank you for gifting all of us with music . . . whether to sing it or hear it, you have given us a language that only the soul can understand. Let us take time to join together each week to pray and sing together, listening to your voice, and serving you with a song in our hearts.

Dale Reinhard

Leave a Reply

