Lenten Meditation – April 6, 2011

April 6, 2011

Lessons: Psalm 101, 109:1-30, 119:121-144, Jeremiah 18:1-11, Romans 8:1-11, John 6:27-40

John 6: 28-29: Then they asked him, “What must we do to do the works God requires?” Jesus answered, “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.”

I’m a left brain kind of person. I like facts that I can look up in a book. If you ask me a series of questions, I feel compelled to answer each one with a serious answer in the order you asked them. Sometimes the really hard questions for me are the ones where the answers seem simple at first, but cause serious thought as I reflect. I would really like to have better answers. For example the question: “Why do I go to church?” The simple answer: “Because I believe in God and coming to church feeds my spirit.” The follow on question inevitably is: “Even if you believe in God, why do you go to church?” What do I find in church that feeds my spirit? It doesn’t help that I find I’m confronted with things in church that I don’t completely (or even partly) understand: What is “the Good News of God in Christ?” I’m not sure how to describe that. And I don’t exactly know what it means to be “good”, or if I’m living a life anyone would consider “spiritual”. I wrestle with defining things like the terms “blessed” or “grace”.

So I find comfort knowing that first and foremost is just believing. “The work of God is to believe in the one he sent.” Defining how broad, deep, or specific that belief is, is not immediately required. Belief is an act of the spirit rather than the brain. For my left brain, the small simple lessons that Jesus teaches is a nice place to start. It’s enough that I believe in God and his Son Jesus Christ. I come to church to feed my spirit… my brain will just have to listen to my spirit to learn the details.

Dear Lord, keep my ears open to hear your word, keep my heart open to understand your word and feed my spirit so that my mind might know you better. Amen.

Linda Aston

One response to “Lenten Meditation – April 6, 2011

  1. Susan Van Dyke

    Linda –
    Thanks for you clear thoughts! Believe in the one He sent – yes.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

