Lenten Meditation – March 11, 2011

March 11, 2011

Lessons: Psalm 95, 31, 35, Deuteronomy 7:12-16, Titus 2:1-15, John 1:35-42

John 1:38-39 Turning around, Jesus saw them following and asked, “What do you want?” They said, “Rabbi” (which means “Teacher”), “where are you staying?” “Come,” he replied, “and you will see.” So they went and saw where he was staying, and they spent that day with him. It was about four in the afternoon.

I can see myself following Jesus, both wanting to get close and afraid of being noticed. Nevertheless, I am seduced.

Perhaps that’s the purpose of Lent. It begins by coming to a place where we expect to find Jesus and are stunned to discover that he has already noticed us. We follow at a safe distance; he feels our presence and gives us a chance to claim our curiosity. “What do you want?” he asks.

I want healing in my family. I want a job that wakes me every morning. I want to be able to feel my heart again. I want to be the parent my child needs right now. I want to hold and be held by my brother. It’s been twelve years now. I want to know, Jesus, that you can be trusted.

Lent says, “Come and you will see. Come and spend the day. Just come.”

Lord, you are the one who turned. Seek me out in ways I can not miss this season of Holy Lent. Incline my heart towards you. Amen

Anonymous

Leave a Reply

