Dean Baker’s Weekly Message

I’ve been sick in bed for a few days with an odd array of symptoms. I don’t think it was the flu, but it was enough to get me to slow down. And I think that is what my body needed. Tuesday was my lie-in-bed-and-don’t-move day. Tuesday was also the day when the high winds and rain came. Large limbs fell across the street in front of my house. It was dramatic weather that we don’t often see in Sacramento.

I couldn’t help wondering how hard it must be to be homeless in weather like this. I was snug and warm in my bed listening to the wind rustle the trees and the rain beating on the roof. Others were trying to find some place to keep dry. I imagined the people lucky enough to have a tent in which to sleep, hoping that their shelters didn’t leak. I know homelessness is a problem that we will always face. I’m yearning to figure out how to be more helpful.

A few weeks ago I got a call from Kirsten Paisley. She is a lay person who had recently graduated from seminary and was looking for a way to minister to the homeless. She asked if I would be able to use her as a volunteer. I’ve accepted her generous request and she is now working with Loaves and Fishes, Francis House and the Safe Ground people to see how we might be able to be more involved. I am grateful for her willingness to help us serve those in need. I’ve often wondered if we could serve meals to the homeless, perhaps on one evening per week. Or what about housing homeless people in the Great Hall during times of difficult weather or other emergencies. I am grateful that Trinity Cathedral is a vehicle that connects us to the needs of those around us in a way that allws us to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

