Advent Meditation – Dec. 19th

Advent Meditation by Anonymous

Friday, December 19, 2008

 

 

Psalms 40:17

 

As for me, I am poor and needy; but the Lord takes thought for me. Thou art my help and my deliverer; do not tarry, O my God!

 

+ + + + +

 

“O my God!” is a common-place phrase these days….you hear it all the time. Every time someone gets a make-over on HGTV they scream, “O my God!” Winners and losers alike casually call on God’s name.

 

 

But I understand being poor and needy…..and I have called out from the depths of my heart, “O my God!, here I am again and I need your help!” God, of course always answers. At one particularly low point in my life, he answered by sending our parish priest. She came with reassurance of God’s love and forgiveness, and His ever present help in time of need. This was not just some elusive aura of well-being in the midst of difficulty. This was a real live human being who was willing to put herself out to bring me the good news of God’s love. And not just once.

 

Now I pray, “God, make me open to the painful needs of others. Make me aware of the opportunities in my everyday life to be the one who is there, sharing God’s love. God, use me to do your work in the world!”

 

 

In my desolate darkness God inclined his ear to me and drew me up. He heard my cry. Then, just like King David, God drew me up out of my miry pit and set my feet on a rock.

 

 

King David writes “Blessed is the person who makes the Lord his trust.” I thank God for His truth. I thank God for that second chance in life so I can proclaim His Glory forever. I thank God for His Faithfulness!

 

 

 

 

Anonymous

 

Leave a Reply

